Impress has signed a €40 million loan with the European Investment Bank (EIB) to invest in its AI platform and expand across Europe. The Spanish digital orthodontics network says the funding will support work across more than 110 clinics worldwide. The agreement follows an over €110 million financing announcement in 2024, according to the source report.
What will the loan fund?
The loan is venture debt, a form of borrowing used by a company to finance growth. Impress says it will use the funding to scale investment in its AI platform across its clinic network. The source report also says the agreement will accelerate expansion plans in Europe. The terms beyond the stated amount and purpose were not disclosed in the supplied material.
How does the platform fit clinic care?
Impress combines in-person care in specialised clinics with continuous monitoring through its technology platform. Its AI engine draws on a global database of 500,000 patients, according to the company’s co-founder and CEO, Vladimir Lupenko. He said the system allows the clinics to multiply efficiency ten times and reduce in-person visits by 80%. Those performance figures are attributed to Lupenko and are not independently assessed in the source material.
How did Impress reach this point?
Vladimir Lupenko, Diliara Lupenko and Khaled Kasem founded Impress in Barcelona in 2019. The company offers invisible orthodontics and medical technology, with treatment combining clinic appointments and digital monitoring. It currently operates in 10 countries across Europe and the United States. The source report states that more than 110 clinics serve a global patient base of 500,000 treated patients.
The financing follows the company’s over €110 million financing announcement in 2024, which supported European expansion following its acquisition of DrSmile. The report does not detail the breakdown of that earlier financing or the present loan’s repayment schedule. It also does not specify how much of the €40 million will go to platform development versus expansion. These details matter for understanding how the new debt will support the company’s plans.
What did the EIB say about the deal?
María Romano, Head of the EIB Group Office in Spain, said the operation reflects the EIB’s support for innovative European growth companies. She connected the financing with the opportunity to improve healthcare quality and efficiency through digital transformation. The source report describes the deal as part of the EIB’s support for AI-based HealthTech solutions. No further statement from the EIB about loan conditions appears in the supplied material.
Key points:
- Impress signed a €40 million venture debt loan with the European Investment Bank (EIB).
- The company says it will invest in its AI platform and accelerate expansion across Europe.
- Impress operates more than 110 clinics worldwide and reports 500,000 patients treated globally.
- The loan follows an over €110 million financing announcement in 2024.
What remains unclear after signing?
The supplied information does not give the loan’s duration, interest rate, or repayment conditions. It does not set out a timetable for European expansion or identify which markets will receive investment first. The next details to track are how Impress allocates the loan and what platform developments it reports. The source material also leaves open how the company measures its stated efficiency and visit reductions.